Arrival & adjustments: my first few days!

Finally have touched down in Copenhagen!  I flew Air Canada from Rochester –> Toronto –> Copenhagen.  6 people on my flight out of Rochester!  I’m a huge sports fan, so as I was waiting for my flights I had my eyes glued to the TV screen, catching parts of both NFL playoff games on Saturday night.  Reluctantly, I had to pull away from NFL this weekend, knowing that I would miss moments like the Ravens’ double-overtime victory and the Seahawks 20-point comeback.  I sort of have to tame my sports obsession, and find new interests and activities in Copenhagen.

As for what I did and learned the past few days, I don’t really know how to write this post – there’s just so much to talk about!!  It has sure been a busy start to the semester.  Although classes don’t start until Thursday, DIS has organized 3-day orientation to help us adjust to the new environment.  I’m waking up much, much earlier than last semester – getting out of bed at 7:30, meeting up with the rest of the students at my kollegium, and riding downtown by bus to the many speeches, info sessions, and activities that are planned.

Initial thoughts and things that I learned:

  • Everyone is super, super friendly!  The other 50-some DISers that live in Hoffmanns Kollegium (aka “The Hoff” – a dorm-style building, 25-minute bus ride to downtown Copenhagen) are incredible so far.  Though it’s only been a few days, we have gotten along very well, and I’m slowly starting to remember names.  Even the Danes – who are supposed to be of the quiet, private sort – have defied all expectations!  They help me out at the grocery store, give me directions, and have been nothing but completely accommodating during these first few confusing days.
  • $$$: downtown is super expensive.  If you find a good deal for a sandwich, you’re still paying around $10, and beer is about the same price.  There’s student discounts at most places, but by far the best option is the Netto supermarket located right next door to our kollegium.  Prices there are the same as my Safeway in Georgetown, sometimes even cheaper.  Everyone here is a living on a budget, and we were all pleasantly surprised last night when we went shopping.

Supermarket down the street from kollegium

  • Weather: it is cold.  Let me repeat, it is cold!! (And don’t forget, I’m from upstate NY.)  Ok, maybe I’m overblowing it.  Today wasn’t too bad – the sun was out for a few hours, and the snow was less intense.  But Monday was freezing.  I think it has to do with the wind, and we are very close to the water.  Luckily for us, every day gets longer, brighter, and warmer this semester.
during the ride in this morning

during the ride in this morning

That’s it for now! Tonight we are going downtown again to meet up with more DISers, and hopefully meet some new Danes, too!

Posted on January 15, 2013, in General and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

