Easter in Vienna

Who knew traveling could be such hard work?  I quickly found that out yesterday, as I arrived back in Copenhagen after 9 days in Sarajevo and Vienna.  When there is so much to do, you want to do it all!

It would be remiss not to start where my trip ended: Easter.  It was unlike any I’ve ever experienced.  I went to two services on Sunday – first, in my Ukrainian Catholic style (this is filmed at the end of the liturgy, when the priest sings Христос Воскрес!…meaning “Christ is Risen”):

After this was over, we walked over to the University Church (Jesuit!) a few minutes away. It was probably the most beautiful church I have ever seen, filled with the most beautiful music I have ever heard.  The pews were so packed that I had to stand in the aisle.   It felt like I was no longer on earth, caught in a sort of other-worldy limbo.  It was so spectacular that I had to fight back tears.  

Here is the closing song; maybe you’ll get a sense of what I mean:

Special thanks to Daniel (who woke up early to come with me to Mass) and Fr. Fields at Georgetown (who recommended the Jesuit church)!

Posted on April 3, 2013, in General and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

